Benefit 2019


2019 Spring Benefit and Isamu Noguchi Award

On May 2, 2019, The Noguchi Museum will hold its annual Spring Benefit and presentation of the 2019 Isamu Noguchi Award honoring Rei Kawakubo. Proceeds from the evening raise critical support for the Museum's collection, exhibitions, and education programs.

The evening will begin with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in the Museum’s sculpture garden, followed by the presentation of the Isamu Noguchi Award. Afterward, a silent auction and dinner will take place in the galleries.


For more information, please download the Benefit Response Form, or contact Melissa Gatz at 718.204.7088 ext 229 or [email protected].

About the Isamu Noguchi Award
Launched at the 2014 Spring Benefit, the Isamu Noguchi Award was established to honor the tenets that Noguchi expressed in his life’s work and to acknowledge other like-minded, highly accomplished individuals who reflect similar ideals in their own times. The Award thus celebrates innovation, global awareness, and Eastern and Western exchange.

2019 Honoree

Rei Kawakubo


Hailed as one of the most brilliant and innovative designers of our time, Rei Kawakubo has consistently defied notions not only of beauty, but also of what fashion can be, at once confounding our expectations for clothing and—like Noguchi—challenging the idea that design and art are inherently different endeavors. Also like Noguchi, Kawakubo celebrates not only forms, but also the spaces between them.

Kawakubo is founder of COMME des GARÇONS and co-founder of Dover Street Market, and her design practice extends beyond clothing to the graphic design, advertising, and interiors for her businesses, which she considers to be inextricable components of her aesthetic vision. Her work has appeared in several exhibitions, including a critically acclaimed solo exhibition at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in 2017, which was only the second monographic show awarded to a living designer by The Met. This year marks the 50th anniversary of COMME des GARÇONS.

Kawakubo received the Fashion Group International Award in 1986 and the Excellence in Design Award from Harvard University Graduate School of Design in 2000. In 1993 she was named a Chevalier in the Order of Arts and Letters by the French government. She divides her time between Tokyo and Paris.


  • Spencer Bailey
  • Phyllis Lally Seevers
  • Eric Shiner


  • Naomi S. Antonakos
  • Sarah Arison
  • Andy Augenblick and Alex Ross
  • Spencer Bailey
  • Susanna Baird
  • Frances Beatty and Alexander Adler
  • Noreen and Ken Buckfire
  • Katherin and Charles Crow
  • Peggy and Dick Danziger
  • Sharon Davis
  • Susan Dunne
  • The Durst Organization
  • Donald H. Elliott
  • Katherine and Luke Fichthorn
  • Christiane Fischer
  • Eileen and Andrew Fisher
  • Lisa Goldberg
  • Marine Hartogs and Maximilian Coreth
  • Gail Hashimoto
  • George Nakashima Woodworkers
  • Hermès of Paris
  • Andrea and David Holbrook
  • ITO EN (North America) INC.
  • Eileen and Peter Jachym
  • J.C.C. Fund, Japanese Chamber of Commerce
    and Industry of New York
  • Susan and Peter Kessler
  • Emily-Jane Kirwan
  • Valerie and Patrick Lally
  • Lucy W. Lamphere
  • Jennifer and Steven Lorch
  • Marian Goodman Gallery
  • Jonathan J. Marvel
  • Karen McDonald
  • Kathy Mele
  • Hiroko and Satoru Murase
  • Helen Nitkin and Joel Rosenkranz
  • Jennifer and Malcolm Nolen
  • Pace Gallery
  • Russel and Julie Patterson
  • Monique Péan and Stephen Glass
  • Doralynn Pines
  • Jane Richards
  • Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Sachs
  • Nicholas Sands
  • Phyllis and Leonard Seevers
  • Eric C. Shiner
  • Silberstein-Boesky Family Foundation
  • Elizabeth Strong-Cuevas
  • Sundaram Tagore
  • Alice Tisch
  • Ian Wardropper
  • Carol Warner
  • Sarah Wendell Sherrill
  • Anthony Williams
  • Richard Wright
  • Peter Wunsch
  • Kazumi Yanai
  • Kulapat Yantrasast, wHY
  • List in formation

Previous Honorees

Lord Norman Foster
Hiroshi Sugimoto
Jasper Morrison
Yoshio Taniguchi
Tadao Ando
Elyn Zimmerman
John Pawson
Hiroshi Senju
Naoto Fukasawa
Edwina von Gal


Images, from top: Isamu Noguchi, The Seed (detail), 1946. Italian marble. Photo by Kevin Noble. ©INFGM / ARS.
Rei Kawakubo: photo by Paolo Roversi / ©COMME des GARÇONS.

Thank you to everyone who made our 2018 Benefit great!